Political Uncertainty and democracy in Pakistan

The 19th century ends, but the democracy in Pakistan or the opposition continues to hurl their PMs out of their seats without completing their tenure of five years.

Democracy in Pakistan is never something done. Since Pakistan’s inception, it has been unclear who will be elected to lead the country. It is a blot and also a question for our democracy as to why every elected government failed to complete its era.

It all began with the assassination of the first Prime Minister of Pakistan, Liaquat Ali Khan, when the hired assassin, Said Akbar, in Rawalpindi, killed him. He was the Prime Minister of Pakistan from 1947 to 1951. After that, the government came into the hands of Khuwaja Nazimuddin, who was the second Prime Minister of Pakistan. He was the most outstanding and successful member of the Dhaka Nawab family. He is noted as the first Bengali to have ruled Pakistan. He refused to oblige, and Governor-General Malik Ghulam used reserve powers granted in the India Act 1935 to dismiss Prime Minister Nizamuddin.

In 1953, Mohammad Ali Bogra took the charge of PM, and on October 24th, 1954, the assembly was dissolved by the Governor-General, Ghulam Mohammad. On the 11th of August 1955, CH. Mohammad Ali succeeded in becoming the 4th Prime Minister of Pakistan, but as the legacy of democracy continues, on the 8th of September 1956, A.Q. Khan of the Muslim League brought a motion of no-confidence against him. It became the reason for the resignation of CH. Mohammed Ali from the party’s presidency. Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy became the head of state by taking the charge of PM in 1956.

Pakistan adopted its first constitution in 1956, which consists of 234 articles, 13 parts, and 6 schedules. Democracy continues. After that, most premiers were dismissed under a variety of circumstances, including corruption charges, direct military coups, and forced resignations due to infighting in governing groups.

Seven caretakers held the position to oversee elections; some came to look after to see out the dismissed Prime Minister’s tenure. Some dictators imposed martial law, which resulted in creating chaos across the state. Every government was replaced by the other one.

The 19th century ends, but the democracy of Pakistan or the opposition continues to hurl their PMs out of their seats without completing their tenure of five years. Seven caretakers came to look after the government till the election process.

If we talk about what is happening in Pakistan now, we come to know that there is a chaotic environment across the country because of the No-confidence Motion against Imran Khan, who was the 22nd Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Several political parties in Pakistan united and formed Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) against the Imran Khan’s government. He is the 1st Prime Minister in the history of democracy in Pakistan who was voted out of the seat of Prime Minister as a result of the 3rd No-Confidence Motion in the country.

It is a shame or an award for our country, for our democracy, that we are making history, that not a single Prime Minister of Pakistan and his government completed their tenure since the country’s inception 75 years ago.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept